Lady in the Mist | Book Review

Hey everyone! My name is Olivia, and welcome to my blog. Today, I’m doing my very first book review. I’m not really sure how this is going to go…but hopefully it goes well. I just finished reading Lady in the Mist by Laurie Alice Eakes, and I’m pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this book. I don’t really like historical fiction, but I read this book because I switched favorite books with one of my friends. She loves this book, and I can see why.

Lady in the Mist is a historical fiction romance novel, and it takes place during a time when the Americans and the British did not get along. Tabitha Eckles is the main female character, and she’s an isolated midwife. After almost everyone in her life left her, Tabitha started giving up on her dream of a family and on her faith. Then, a British nobleman named Dominick Cherrett appeared as the mayor’s new butler. Everyone becomes quite suspicious of Dominick as there’s an increase in Americans who’re being abducted by British ships. Even though Tabitha knows Dominick is hiding things from her, she can’t help but be drawn to him and his flirtatious nature.

I really enjoyed the characters in this book, and Dominick and Tabitha’s banter is quite amusing at times. In this book, there was kind of a love triangle, but I was definitely rooting for Dominick. However, I do still feel sad about what happened to the other side of the love triangle also known as Tabitha’s long time friend and ex-fiance, Raleigh. Although we get a good idea of each character’s personality, we only get to know the backstory of the two main characters. I thought both of the main character’s stories were interesting, but they were both told in a very straight-forward, conversational way instead of through memories and stories. Also, Wilkins sucks.

Lady in the Mist really worked for me in terms of atmosphere and writing style because it had a good balance of details and getting to the point. In the past, I didn’t really like a lot of historical fiction because they took a lot of time to describe the setting and surroundings. Even though I’m super wordy, that doesn’t mean I like to read wordy novels. The plot itself was a good idea. It was a classic love story, but Laurie Eakes definitely made it her own. The romance mixed in with the goal of trying to find out who’s helping the British kidnap Americans made this story both lovely and exciting. Even the sections that showed Tabitha doing her duties as a midwife was fascinating to me. That was just a whole other level of being a strong female character.

Overall, I did really enjoy this book, and I hope to continue with the series one day. Although the first part of the novel was appealing to me because it was more focused on Tabitha and Dominick’s relationship, I do think that it was a tad long. I do wish that the author could have taken some of that time that was spent on the first part and instead add more to the ending of the book. It would have been interesting to see the scene where Tabitha revealed Wilkins to be a traitor play out, or perhaps an epilogue to show Tabitha and Dominick’s future instead of Dominick explaining to Tabbie and the readers what their future will be.

Rating: 8.4/10

Thank you all for reading my blog/my first book review. I hope y’all enjoyed it. Tell me down in the comments if you’ve read this book or are interested in reading Lady in the Mist. What are you reading right now? See y’all in the next blog!

Leave a comment